1945-1946 Men’s Basketball Team

1945-1946 Men’s Basketball Team: Jim Hultberg, Jim Bonck*, Alfred C. Waldrep*, Sam Foreman, John Casteix*, Vince Greco*, Milton Jackson*, Joe Gurievsky, Bob Benson*, Steve Marcev*, Bill Treuting*, Bill Hrapmann*, Frank France, Coach: Jack Orsley* (* designates deceased)

After winning Loyola's only national title in 1945, the men's basketball team nearly repeated the trick. The Wolf Pack, which lost its star player from the '45 team, Leroy Chollet, to a transfer, went 9-9 to open its campaign as defending champions. But then Loyola won its next 12 games in a row and was invited to return to the National Association of Intercollegiate Basketball tournament in Kansas City, Missouri, which it had won the previous year.

Loyola defeated Hastings College 76-48, Arizona State 60-56 and Drury University 54-43 to advance to the semifinals, where it lost to Southern Illinois 53-37. The Wolf Pack dropped the tournament's consolation game 82-55 to Pepperdine, whom it had bested to clinch the title in 1945.

Despite bowing out in the semis, Loyola forward James "Red" Hultberg earned recognition as a second-team All-American at the tournament, an honor he had also been given in '45. Hultberg was Loyola's top scorer, bucketing 290 points in the regular season and adding 57 at the NAIB tournament.

Other members of the last Loyola men's basketball team to advance in a postseason national tournament include Jim Bonck, A.C. Waldrep, Bill Treuting, Sam Foreman, John Casteix, Vince Greco, Milton "Whitey" Jackson, Joe Gurievsky, Bob Benson, Steve Marcev, Frank France, and Bill Hrapmann. Their coach was Jack Orsley, who was in charge of the men's basketball and baseball programs and served as athletic director during his time at Loyola from 1940 to 1957.