Florida Centennial Celebration

DATE: Saturday, April 13, 2013

TIME: 6:30 - 9:00 p.m.

LOCATION: The Biltmore, 1200 Anastasia Ave, Coral Gables, FL 33134 

PRICE: $50/person; $80/couple; Young Alumni (2012-2002) rate of $35/person; $55/couple

Register Now!

RSVP Deadline:  Thursday, April 11, 2013

Join us as we gather together to celebrate the Centennial anniversary of Loyola University New Orleans at South Florida’s Most Iconic venue, The Biltmore Hotel.  A stunning example of classic Mediterranean Revival architecture the Biltmore is a palace of elegance, beauty, and old world charm.

The Biltmore

  • Designed by renowned architects Leonard Schultze and S. Fullerton Weaver to be the “center of Sports and fashion” in southern Florida
  • Built in 1926 the Biltmore is located on 150 lush tropical acres in the heart of south Florida
  • Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
  • Boasts the largest hotel pool in the continental United States
  • A short 12 minute ride from the Miami International Airport
  • Awarded several times as one of the “Best Resorts in the U.S.A.” by Cone Nast Traveler Magazine
  • Regularly listed as one of Travel + Leisure Magazine’s “Top 500 World’s Best Hotels”

Centennial Celebration Itinerary

6:30 p.m.—Celebrating the Past Reception
7:15 p.m.—Centennial Program

  • Remarks by Dr. Bernard Cook, author “Founded on Faith: A History of Loyola University New Orleans” 
  • Screening of The Loyola Centennial Documentary
  • Musical performance: Priscilla Bagley ’91
  • A Toast to the University’s Future by Father Kevin Wildes, S.J., Ph.D., University President

8:00 p.m.—Embracing the Future Reception


For those traveling to attend from outside of the Miami-Coral Gables area we have secured a block of rooms at the The Biltmore.  Hotel reservations can be made directly with the hotel by calling 877-576-0793 and requesting the “Loyola University” rate by Wednesday, March 20, 2013.

Dress Code

Business casual is the suggested attire.

Honorary Host Committee

A special thanks to the Florida Centennial Host Committee members:

Maria and Carlos Arazoza ‘82
Vivian Zaribaf Chavez, J.D. ’98 and Ruben Chavez, J.D. ‘98
Kelly O’Brien Claughton ’96 and Ed Claughton ‘94
Lourdes Alonso Fanjul '82 and Marcelo Fanjul
Dee Savarino Lear ’75 and Harry Lear
Carlos Macias ’09, J.D. ‘12
Victoria Livingston McCarthy '86 and James McCarthy
Susan Ridolph McEvoy ’88 and Pat McEvoy
Maria Gari de Molina '82 and Raul de Molina
Mildred Morgado, J.D. ‘98
Ana Garrigo O’Loane ’81 and Daniel O’Loane ‘81
Ana and Frank Rovirosa ‘81
Eduardo Ruiz '84, M.B.A. '86
Rhonda Shear ’77 and Van Fagan
Sara and John Simmons '76
Andrea and Joseph Sorce, J.D. ‘94
Christine Poist Trovato ’02, J.D. ’05 and Nicholas Trovato ‘04